Diana Krall – Why Should I Care   

Was there something more
I could have done?
Or was I not meant to be the one?
Where’s the life I thought
we would share?
And should I care?
And will someone else get more of you?
Will she go to sleep more sure of you?
Will she wake up knowing
you’re still there?
And why should I care?
There’s always one
to turn and walk away
And one who just wants to stay
But who said that love is always fair?
And why should I care?
Should I leave you
alone here in the dark?
Holding my broken heart
While a promise
still hangs in the air
Why should I care?
 
C’era qualcos’altro
che avrei potuto fare?
O non dovevo essere io a farlo?
Dov’è la vita che pensavo
avremmo condiviso?
E me ne dovrebbe importare?
E qualcun altro otterrà di più da te?
Lei andrà a letto più sicura di te?
Lei si sveglierà sapendo
che sei ancora lì?
E perché me ne dovrebbe importare?
C’è sempre qualcosa
da mandare via e allontanare
E qualcosa che vuole solo restare
Ma chi ha detto che l’amore è giusto?
E perché dovrebbe importarmene?
Dovrei lasciarti
da solo qui al buio?
Stringendo il mio cuore spezzato
Mentre una promessa
è sospesa nell’aria
Perché dovrebbe importarmene?